A caregiver must be 18 years of age or above with no record of any conviction of felony drug use or possession. He must not be currently serving as a primary caregiver for another qualifying patient and can not be the patient’s physician. A caregiver must be a resident of New Jersey and agree to assist a qualifying patient with the medical use of marijuana. A caregiver must be registered with the New Jersey Medicinal Marijuana Program and submit a required fingerprint submission and background check.The caregiver can only assist one patient at a time. A patient or a caregiver is not allowed to cultivate medical marijuana. A caregiver can legally possess the maximum amount of marijuana of two ounces in a thirty-day period.
The Department of Health of New Jersey announced the selection of six Alternative Treatment Center applicants to move forward in the permitting process. According to the state rules, the facilities must be operated as nonprofit agencies.The department requires that the facilities must provide all required application information and documentation to be licensed to grow and dispense medicinal marijuana.The organization includes officers, directors, board members, and employees, who must also comply with the rules and regulations under the law. All persons must be 18 years of age or above with no record of any drug felony offense.
There are no laws or laws in the works regarding medical marijuana growers; patients can only obtain medications through a licensed dispensary.